best free website builder
Voters of Precinct 25, Precinct 28 and Precinct 29 in Shelby Township have been reassigned as a result of recent changes to the township's polling locations. (File photo - The Source)

Polling locations change in Shelby Township

The Shelby Township Board of Trustees recently approved a request by Clerk Stanley Grot to adopt a resolution regarding a permanent change to three of the township's 29 precinct voting locations.

It's unfortunate, but it happens from time to time, Grot said.

According to the clerk, registered voters of Precinct 25, Precinct 28 and Precinct 29 will be reassigned.

Registered voters of Precincts 25 and 28 shall vote at St. Therese of Lisieux Church (48115 Schoenherr Road), and the registered voters of Precinct 29 shall vote at Lakeside Assembly of God Church (46155 Schoenherr Road), Grot said.

Residents in Precinct 25 previously voted at Utica High School, while Precincts 28 and 29 were assigned to King of Kings Church, located at 47500 Schoenherr Road.

While we certainly appreciate everything they've done for us, (King of Kings Church) has made it clear that they're no longer able to accommodate us, Grot said.

As a result, the township was forced to reassign voters in those precincts.

We really had no choice, Grot said.

According to Grot, the township's voting precincts now are:

Precincts 1 and 14: Crissman Elementary, 53550 Wolf Drive (north of 24 Mile Road, east of Van Dyke)/

Precincts 2 and 4: Wiley Elementary, 47240 Shelby Road (north of 21 Mile Road).

Precincts 3 and 9: Shadbush Nature Center, 4101 Riverbends Drive (north of Auburn Road, east of Ryan Road).

Precinct 5: Shelby Junior High School, 51700 Van Dyke (east of Van Dyke, north of 23 Mile Road).

Precincts 6 and 21: West Utica Elementary, 5415 West Utica Road (between Auburn and Ryan roads).

Precincts 7 and 22: Morgan Elementary, 53800 Mound Road (between 24 Mile and 25 Mile roads).

Precincts 8 and 17: Eisenhower High School, 6500 25 Mile Road (south side of 25 Mile Road, east of Mound Road).

Precinct 10: Utica High School, 47255 Shelby Road (near 21 Mile Road).

Precinct 11: Fire Station No. 1, 6345 23 Mile Road (between Van Dyke and Mound Road).

Precinct 12: Monfort Elementary, 6700 Montgomery (between 23 Mile and 24 Mile roads).

Precincts 13 and 15: Switzer Elementary, 53200 Shelby Road (south side of 25 Mile Road, east of Mound Road).

Precincts 16 and 18: Malow Junior High School, 6400 25 Mile Road (east of Mound Road).

Precinct 19: Roberts Elementary, 2400 Belle View (east of Dequindre Road, north of 23 Mile Road).

Precincts 20 and 26: Shepherd's Gate Church, 12400 23 Mile Road (east of the M-53 Freeway).

Precincts 23 and 24: St. John Vianney Church, 54045 Schoenherr Road (north of 24 Mile Road).

Precincts 25 and 26: St. Therese of Lisieux Church, 48115 Schoenherr Road (north of 21 Mile Road).

Precinct 27: Shelby Manor Meeting Room, 13960 Lakeside Blvd. (east side of Schoenherr Road, north of Hall Road).

Precinct 29: Lakeside Assembly of God, 46155 Schoenherr Road (north of Hall Road).

There are no boundary changes requested in association with these voting location changes, Grot said, noting that voters in the affected areas will receive a letter in the mail notifying them of the changes.

Voters with question about their polling location may also contact the Clerk's Office at 586-731-5102.



  • @sdelaney81


Phone: 586-453-5988